HOME

SPONSORS

EVENTS

GUESTS

WORKSHOPS

EXHIBITIONS

MEGASHOWS

CONTACTS

UNESCO PATRONAGE
"The true sense of intelligence is not knowledge but inspiration."
                                                                                                                                 - Albert Einstein
An inspiration was all it took to make Kshitij see the light of day! What conspired in the years to come will be cherished by all those who witnessed it. Every horizon, upon being reached, reveals another beckoning in the distance. Likewise Kshitij, which is on the verge of completing a wonderful decade of its existence, is all set to embark on a fresh journey, to once again engulf the horizon.

With over 40 events, encompassing varied fields of science, technology and management, Kshitij, the annual techno-management fest of IIT Kharagpur, invites students from all around the globe to put their ingenuity and aptitude to test at an unparalleled level of competition. The largest fest of its kind in all of Asia, offers its participants a wide spectrum of events to prove their mettle, while the huge amount of prize money is reflective of the grandeur of the same. The quality of our events was soon noticed by top notch international organisations like ASME, IMechE, ASHRAE, ACM and IEEE and they continue their association with us. Be a part of this techno-management extravaganza which is scheduled from 1st -4th February, 2013, as we once again seek to mesmerize and enlighten you.
about
kshitij
Home
Registration KTJ 2013
All fields are mandatory!

Name   
Gender
Date Of Birth
Country
State
Department
Current Year
Email
Home Address
Sponsors
CONCEPTUALIZE
ASME SDE
B Plan
Eureka
Open Soft
Vision 2030
Smart Fields
Speak Out For Engineering
ASME-Student Design ExpositionOpen Ended Hardware Design Competition        

The history of mankind is full of such examples where an invention has revolutionized our lives. Let that be the electric bulb or the modern computers, over time humanity has invented objects and methods for accomplishing complex tasks in a faster, easier and efficient manner. This event provides you with an opportunity to present novel contraptions that you believe can cause a breakthrough in the life of mankind. It is an open hardware design competition, where we invite original hardware creations from the student community. An ideal platform to bring forth the genius within you and amaze us all by your creations.




Click here to download the complete Problem Statement for ASME Student Design Competition.
General
Students who wish to participate must:
1.Visit the Student Professional Development Conferences website.
2.Choose the location of the spring conference he/she plans to attend.
3.Complete the appropriate entry form for that location.
4.In addition to completing his/her registration for the SPDC, each exhibitor must also submit the Student Design Expo Entry Form (Appendix A)*.
  • Team Size: 5

  • A standard 512mb RAM, Pentium IV, windows XP/ Linux computer will be provided if required. Any other software required should be brought by the participants. They will be given time to install it before the final event.
  • The main focus in judgment will be on the hardware component of the product, coding will not be considered while marking.
  • One entry can be used only in one event.
  • Teams should not reveal their identity anywhere in the submission. Mention the unique team ID given during registration in the first page.
  • Abstracts of the finalists will be put up on the website.
  • The teams can download the abstracts of other participants and can complain against cases of plagiarism. Such complaints shall be thoroughly investigated. Even if any such case is found after the team has cleared the first round, then the team stands to be disqualified immediately.
  • It is compulsory to send all the below mentioned files before the last date of submission, failing to which the entry will be disqualified.
  • Teams will be required to send in their submissions to submissions@ktj.in .
  • The last date for online submission for the first round is 15 December, 2012 .
Round 1 The participants have to submit the following in a single zipped folder named in the format "SDExxxx.zip" where "xxxx" is the unique team id given during registration: A single PDF or Microsoft word document containing:
  • Title
  • Functionality ( tasks that your hardware is supposed to do)
  • Areas of application (if any)
  • List of hardware components used
  • List of softwares used (if any)
  • Labeled schematic diagram including the circuit diagrams of self-designed components. All readymade components should be shown as black boxes.
  • Steps of construction, preferably a flowchart of the proposed plan of construction.
  • Innovation or USP of the product.
  • Proposed Budget
  • A text document containing the following:
    • List of required items* which the participants need to be provided at IIT Kharagpur (mentioning the number of tables required, computers etc.)
    • The department which should judge its entry.
    • A text file containing the four optional judging parameters on which the team would like its model to be judged.
    • A video showing the working model, the participant can upload it on Google, Youtube and send us the link or may send a cd to us.
  • The Student Design Expo Entry Form(Appendix A).
  • *All the required items by the teams should be confirmed with the Kshitij team at least a week prior to the event. Kshitij team shall not be held responsible for any requirement not fulfilled.
Round 2:
  • On the basis of these submissions, 15 teams will be selected for the final demonstration at IIT Kharagpur.
  • The participants will have to come with the final working models.
  • A set of posters, maximum 6, demonstrating their hardware. (if any)
  • Any special software or hardware required to run their hardware effectively should be arranged for by the participants themselves.
  • Judges decision will be final and binding.
  • The teams will have to exhibit their model on the same day.
  • The winning device will have the highest score S where:

     S = D1 + D2 - 100(W1 + W2)

     D = Distance car traveled in mm
     W = Water spilled over 25 mL in mL

  • Any damage to the course will result in an immediate disqualification.
  • Any device not meeting the device requirements will be immediately disqualified.
Click here to register for this event. 1st prize : Rs.16,000
2nd prize : Rs.11,000
3rd Prize : Rs.7,000

Onkar Deshpande
Email : onkar.deshpande@ktj.in
Ph : +91 7602062997

Events
Guest Lectures

Alan Emtage
Father of the Internet Search Engine

Dov Frohman
Former VP- Intel, Inventor of EPROM

D. Richard Hipp
Architect of SQLite and Fossil SCM

Bedabrata Pain
Director, Inventor of CMOS Image Sensor

Sir Robin Knox-Johnston
First to perform a solo non-stop circumnavigation of the globe

Dr. Subir Gokarn
Former Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of India

Dr. Jacob Cohen
Chief Scientist,
NASA

Claude Vallee
Chairman SPSC,
CERN

Osamu Hasegawa
Guests
Exhibitions
Megashows
Technology Students' Gymkhana
Indian Institute of Technology
Fax: +91 3222 281187
admin@ktj.in
General Secretaries - Technology
Himanshu Hitesh Das
himanshu.das@ktj.in
+91 9800043268
Ramendra Prasad
ramendra.prasad@ktj.in
+91 9800043267
Heads

Sponsorship
Ankur Gupta
gupta.ankur@ktj.in
+91 9679998178
Harsh Bajaj
harsh.bajaj@ktj.in
+91 9800043263
Jairaj Desai
jairaj.desai@ktj.in
+91 9800043262
Shwetanshu Gupta
shwetanshu.gupta@ktj.in
+91 9800043264
V.Indukala.P
indukala.p@ktj.in
+91 9800043265
Event Management
Bhuratn Gupta
bhuratn.gupta@ktj.in
+91 9468626001
Palak Rungta
palak.rungta@ktj.in
+91 8001619399
Pritish Kumar Jha
pritish.jha@ktj.in
+91 9734571134
Raviteja Varma
raviteja.varma@ktj.in
+91 8348521801
Romanshu Sroha
romanshu.sroha@ktj.in
+91 7602062997
Vipul Allawadhi
vipul.allawadhi@ktj.in
+91 8348521244

Publicity
Aaditya Salgarkar
aaditya.salgarkar@ktj.in
+91 8145646547
Nuthan Reddy
nuthan.reddy@ktj.in
+91 9474985552
Prateek Kedia
prateek.kedia@ktj.in
+91 9932839457

Media and Public Relations
Shahir Aziz
shahir.aziz@ktj.in
+91 8100691144


Finance
Nikhil Bhawsinka
nikhil.bhawsinka@ktj.in
+91 8670004609
Punj Rajan
punj.rajan@ktj.in
+91 7407655781

Web
Abhishek Kapoor
abhishek.kapoor@ktj.in
+91 8145362216
P.Sai Kiran
sai.kiran@ktj.in
+91 8653675955
Sreejith Ramachandran
sreejith.r@ktj.in
+91 8001619453
Srinivasan Sivanandan
srinivasan.s@ktj.in
+91 8609671235

Design
Arghyadeep Bhattacharjee
arghyadeep.b@ktj.in
+91 7602065572
Ashok Krishna
ashok.krishna@ktj.in
+91 9434359075
Himanshu Chowdhary
himanshu.chowdhary@ktj.in
+91 8609672964
Nikhil Bapna
nikhil.bapna@ktj.in
+91 8348523170
Shrey Sharma
shrey.sharma@ktj.in
+91 8293657041
Contacts
More




UNESCO PATRONAGE






Another milestone crossed on an odyssey of brilliance as UNESCO grants its patronage to Kshitij.







A feather in the cap of Kshitij, the patronage is a shining example of the dedication and effort put in by team Kshitij as year after year, the fest touches new heights. Kshitij has come a long way from the humble initiative it was 9 years ago. From a meagre participation of a few hundred in its nascent years, to witnessing a participation of 50 thousand last year, the journey was never easy but immensely rewarding. Carrying forth this glorious legacy, the decade edition of Kshitij has earned yet another badge of merit.

Granted to demonstrate the Organization's moral endorsement of an exceptional activity, patronage is UNESCO's highest form of support. A fruit of years of perseverance, the patronage reminds us that the fest stands for something more than mere statistics. As students in one of India's premier educational institutions we believe that an onus falls upon us to promote technological and managerial disposition among the youth, apart from addressing a higher cause in the form of social initiatives. The faith showed in us by UNESCO further motivates team Kshitij to set higher benchmarks. Eager to live up to its expectations, Kshitij 2013 strives to be a grand success.



Unesco